log in

Profile: EricS1

Your personal background.
I am in my early 40s, from NY City New Yawk USA originally (moved to upstate New York for school and stayed around...); I studied mathematics in college and graduate school up to master\'s degree level, and have had a series of part-time jobs, mostly editing and web design, in the decade and a half since.

My main hobby, topic of interest, is music, especially the more formal (I suppose? classical?) works of the 17th through 19th centuries (there\'s no really good term that lacks really, really bad connotations, and \"formal\" doesn\'t do either, it describes a lot of it very poorly- and the time range isn\'t quite right either... well. Anyway! I have always had trouble with the phrases serious or classical music as misleading, ambiguous, and... other problems :) but ... ) - I no longer play an instrument, but I do edit articles about composers and pieces on Wikipedia sometimes, typeset pieces of music using GNU LilyPond, do library research, listen a lot, etc. I am an administrator/sysop on the English-language Wikipedia and on another Wiki-software-based site, IMSLP (the International Music Standard Library Project).

Miscellaneous: my politics more than tilt leftward, and I was diagnosed (around 1994) with Asperger\'s Syndrome (and not in passing, not once-and-forgotten...)
Your opinions about NFS@Home
1) I spent a lot of time as a math student, up to my graduate years, and still retain interest. This is an easy way to help out!
2) New to the project right now but it seems well-managed...
3) None so far!
Your feedback on this profile
Recommend this profile for User of the Day: I like this profile
Alert administrators to an offensive profile: I do not like this profile
Account data View
Team Carl Sagan
Friends (1)
Bernie O



Home | My Account | Message Boards